By Tejiri Ebikeme

The National Universities Commission(NUC) has finally accredited the Law Faculty of the Delta State University.
The Law Faculty of the Institution is being run at its Oleh Campus.

Authorities of the Institution have been battling for the accreditation of the Law Faculty.

Management of DELSU said yesterday in the bulletin of the Institution that; “This is to inform staff, students, other members of University community, the general public and especially candidates seeking admission into the law programme of the Delta State University, that the National Universities Commission (NUC) has granted full accreditation status for the law programme of the University”.

“By this accreditation, the University will admit candidates for the law programme in the 2017/2018 academic session and will remain accredited till December, 2021. The Management of the Delta State University is using this opportunity to express its sincere gratitude and appreciation to the Governor of Delta State and Visitor to the Delta State University, His Excellency, Senator Dr. Ifeanyi Arthur Okowa. Also to be appreciated are the President and members of Isoko Development Union (IDU) staff, students, alumni and body of SANS in Delta State for the various roles played in achieving this feat”, it stated.

Meanwhile, the Public Relations Officer (PRO), Mr Eddy Agbure said that the University has scaled through the hurdles of getting the Law Faculty accredited by the NUC.

The image maker who spoke to our Correspondent on telephone on Wednesday at about 2:00pm said that;” It is true that the Law Faculty of the Delta State University (DELSU) has just been accredited by the NUC and candidates for the ongoing JAMB registration should feel free now to apply to read Law in the University. This is a very cheerful news. We want to commend Governor Ifeanyi Okowa, the State Commissioner For Higher Education Hon Sinebe Jude, the dynamic VC of the Institution, Prof Victor Peretomode, members of Isoko Development Union (IDU), the good people of Isoko nation, staff, students, alumni and host of others who made this long awaited accreditation possible”.