Jesse Ese, Yenagoa

The Bayelsa State Police Command has, on Thursday, organised service of songs in honour of the eleven slain police officers which were killed in April 2013.

Those who were killed in the tragic incident are: Inspector Manna Taru, PC Emmanuel Uyekpegha, Inspector Joseph Ofozoni, Sergeant Timothy Osemele, Sergeant Monday Onwubuya, Sergeant Jack Adekeye, PC Adegor Lucky, PC Etim Mfreke, CPL Ogolo Ukam, PC Ekepenyong Idongesit and PC Collins Obiano.

Speaking during the service of songs in the Police Headquarters in Yenagoa, the Commissioner of Police, CP Hilary Opara MNI, represented by the Assistant Commissioner of Police in-charge of Area Command, ACP Ebere C. Onyeagoro, expressed sympathy on behalf of the Bayelsa Police Command to the fallen heroes.

He said that the Inspector General of Police and the Nigerian Police equally expressed their sympathy and wish the fallen heroes a safe journey home.

“We remember our fallen heroes and commend their works, members of the deceased, we love you, we sympathize with you, our fallen heroes, we love you, but God loves you most,” he said.

Speaking to newsmen after the service of songs, ACP Ebere C. Onyeagoro stated that the families of the bereaved are being compensated by the government.

He also said that it took them so long to honour the fallen heroes because they wanted to give them a befitting one.

He lauded the Executive Governor of the state, Hon. Henry Seriake Dickson, for the support he has given to the command since the incident occurred in April, last year.