By Tejiri Ebikeme

The Delta State Government has commended the efforts of the NNPC/Chevron Joint Venture in supporting educational development in the State through various programs including the sponsorship of the Awokoya Memorial Chemistry competition.


The Commissioner for Basic and Secondary Education, Prof. Patrick Muobaghare made the commendation on Saturday November, 22, 2014 during the Award ceremony of the 2014 Awokoya Memorial Competition at the Petroleum Training Institute (PTI), Conference Hall, Effurun-Warri, Delta State.

Represented by the Director, Delta State Education Resource Centre, Pastor Mrs. Joy Bibi Katse, the commissioner thanked the NNPC/CNL joint Venture sponsoring and encouraging the program which has helped to improve the study of the Chemistry in Delta State and in Nigeria.

While imploring other corporate organizations operating to emulate the kind gesture of the NNPC/Chevron Joint Venture and initiate programs aimed at supporting educational development in the State, he congratulated the winners in the competition and urged teachers to put in more efforts to bring out the best in the students.

Earlier in his remarks, the Chairman Chemical Society of Nigeria, Delta Chapter, Mr. Alex Okoroji, stated that the yearly event is aimed at sensitizing the students and encouraging the teaching and learning of Chemistry in secondary schools.

He thanked the NNPC/CNL Joint Venture for its magnanimity and sustained interest in funding the competition since its inception in 1991 and promised to exploit the opportunity for the improvement of the study of Chemistry in the State.

He drew attention to the poor academic performance in the secondary school system in the state and urged the government, parents and other stakeholders to collaborate to urgently correct the deplorable situation.


In his own remarks, Prof. Sunday Honesty Okobia Egboh who represented the President, Chemical Society of Nigeria, Prof. Mrs. Gloria Obuzothe,  informed the audience that the Awokoya Competition began in 1988 and thanked the NNPC/CNL Joint Venture for  keeping faith with the sponsorship of the program since  1991.

In his remarks, the General Manger, Policy Government and Public Affairs (PGPA), Mr. Deji Haastrup represented by Mr. Trust Inimgba PGPA Superintendent Warri, noted that the NNPC/Chevron Joint Venture is committed to improving the quality of education in Nigeria because education is important for the development of the country.

He stated that the company has demonstrated commitment to qualitative education through investments in education infrastructure, sponsorship of manpower development programs and provision of scholarships. “Our corporate belief is that education remains a veritable tool for personal and societal growth and sustainable development, “he remarked.

He commended the winners, Uche Igbeka, Holy Crest College, Warri, (1st prize); Justice Lekwauwa, Okpe Grammar School, Sapele, (2nd prize); Destiny Emelereta, Anglican Grammar School, Otor-Iyede, (first 3rd prize) and Marvellous Mogbolu, Calvary Secondary, School, Agbor, (second 3rd Prize), and charged them to continue to excel in their academic pursuit.

Other guests who commended CNL for sponsoring the competition include Dr. Mrs. Joyce Oguezi and Dr. Mrs. Tina O. Isichei, Director of the Award Committee. Plagues, certificates and cash gifts were later presented to the winners, while some of the CSN members were also presented with plagues after which the guests and the winners cut a cake to mark the event.

In his closing remarks, Prof Timi Akporhonor, the former chairman, Chemical Society of Nigeria Delta Chapter also praised NNPC/CNL Joint Venture for sponsoring the event and encouraged the winners to enroll as members of the Chemical Society of Nigeria after their university education. Also from CNL were Muheez Bello, Government Relations Representative (PGPA), and Nancy Ugbor, PGPA intern, Warri.