President, Community Youths State Working Committee, Mr. Ifeanyi Eboeigbe (2nd right); Special Assistant to the Governor on Social Media, Hon Gods power Asiuwu (right); Hon. Victor Egbo (left) and Comrade Hope George during a meeting with the Political Adviser in Government House Asaba.

Political Adviser to the Governor of Delta State, Chief Festus Ochonogor on Friday inaugurated a 20-man state working committee for Association of Community Youths.

According to Ochonogor the aim of the committee is to ensure peaceful communities for sustainable developmental programmes to take place.

Inaugurating the committee, Chief Ochonogor said the committee which has Mr Ifeanyi Eboigbe as President-General and Mr Innocent Esewezie as Director-General was necessary as it will coordinate the activities of other youth committees in different communities of the state.

According to him, “tranquility in communities enhances socio-economic growth and stability of the larger society and this can be achieved through the application of rule of law, equity and justice; empowerment and sustainable development of our communities, elaborate community policing and encouraging processes that culminate in quality adulthood for enduring community leadership.”

“The formation and inauguration of executive of Association of Community Youths in Delta State is a collaborative mechanism designed to strengthen government machineries by expanding governance infrastructure in the state,” Chief Ochonogor said.

He continued, “this collaboration will obviously lead to skill enhancement, confidence building and ownership that prepare out youths as they navigate toward adulthood; this executive is to help coordinate the state government’s relationship with community youths across Delta State.”

Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the state, Barr. Kingsley Esiso, commended members of the committee for agreeing to serve their communities and the state through the committee, urging them to ensure that they carry the youths in their different communities along in whatever they are doing.

“You cannot work in isolation, you should encourage positive socialization by working to change the mindset of the youths to have positive attitudes to issues,” he said.

In an acceptance speech, the President-General of the committee, Mr Eboigbe thanked God for the opportunity to serve Deltans, assuring that members of the committee will not relent in ensuring peaceful and progressive communities.

He sued for the assistance of all stakeholders to enable the committee to succeed in carrying out its mandates.

Other members of the committee are Chief Francis Ariyo (Deputy Director-General), Mr Kpuduku Zuokumor (Secretary), Mr Peter Onwuka (Deputy Secretary, senatorial coordinators while Chief Nwanze Oduah emerged as Guidance Counselor for the committee in charge of Delta North Senatorial District.