By Nyerhovwo Oghenetejiri

Nigeria 100 metres sprinter, Seye Ogunlewe has retained his national tittle at the All Nigeria Championship held in Sapele, Delta state.

images(3)Ogunlewe ran 12.10s to retain the title he won in 2015 in the athletic champoinship organised by the Athletics Federation of Nigeria (AFN).

He beat his rivals Divine Ofuduru and Egwero Ogho-Oghene who also ran 10.25 secs and 10.36 secs respectively..

This feat of surpassing set standards by the International Association of Ahletic Federation (IAAF), Ogunlewe has qualified for the summer Olympics slated for August in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

Speaking immediately after the race, Ogunlewr attributed his victory to hard work adding that he would work harder to make good representation in the summer Olympics, adding, ”I give thanks to Almighty God for making it possible for me to win the and also retain the title I won last year in Warri.’My focus now is on how to make good appearance in the forthcoming Olympics and I have to work harder to achieve that.”

Also the duo of Emmanuel Gyang and Deborah Pam both won the 10,000m in the men and women categories with a time of 21.32sec and 36.53secs espectively.

While Olamide Oluwaseun and Olumudi Aderonke finished second and third with a time of  37.3:17secs and 37.48:17secs in the women’s 10,000m, Solomon Yilbam and Daylong Sylvester ran 32.05secs and 32.29secs respectively in the men’s 10,000m category.

The event organised by AFN was to select athletes to represent the country in the Rio Olympics coming  up in Brazil later this year.